Southeast Conference honors spring athletes

Muskego's Gnacinski named softball player of the year

June 15, 2010

A number of local athletes earned postseason recognition from the Southeast Conference for their achievements during the spring sports season.


The top honor was taken by Muskego junior Ashley Gnacinski, who was named player of the year in Southeast Conference softball.

She dominated as a pitcher and a batter, batting .628 with 12 doubles, four home runs and 44 RBIs in only 20 games. On the mound, she was the winning pitcher in 15 of Muskego's first 17 games while posting seven shutouts, 89 strikeouts and a 1.16 ERA.

In addition to Gnacinski, Muskego had three other players named to the SEC's first team: infielder Jessica Cattani, first baseman Allison Mayer and outfielder Emily Keegan. Oak Creek catcher Katie Koepsel and Franklin outfielder Natalie Kay also earned first-team honors.

Earning second-team honors were Oak Creek pitcher Alyssa Sirocchi and outfielder Rachel Medenwaldt and Franklin pitcher Jayme Love and infielder Lauren Mather.

Players who earned honorable mention were: Ally Stanke, Renee Lenda and Olivia Ahlborn, all of Oak Creek; Megan Henneberry, Julia Keegan and Michele Soderman, all of Muskego; and Siera Spahiu and Megan Matty, both of Franklin.


Muskego's Hannah Burt, midfielder, and Emily Dietrich, forward, were named first team all-conference for their soccer success.

Earning second-team honors were forward Sam Devcich and defender Sarah Devcich, both of Franklin, midfielder Jenny Rogowski and defender Jessica Mlachnik, both of Muskego, and Oak Creek goalie Alyssa Schenze of Oak Creek. Kenosha Bradford senior Kalli Schulz was named the player of the year.

Earning honorable mention were Oak Creek's Nava Moniriarani, Morgan Kokta and Lauren Fisher; Muskego's Lorena Garcia, Haleigh Hoffmanner and Margret Majar; and Franklin's Lexi Soich, Kristin Witkowski and Megan McCarthy.


Eric Christopherson and the doubles teams of Zach Bartels/Kyle Hoffman and Eric Bauer/Steven Petershack, all of Franklin, were named to the SEC first team. Earning second-team honors for Franklin were Evan Bauer, Mitch DeMario and the doubles team of Brad Heale/CJ Malek. Jacob Kossoris received honorable mention.

Also earning honorable mention were Chris Ziolkowski and doubles team David Nickel/Nick Oleniczak, all of Muskego, and Victor Larrea-Buege of Oak Creek.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Suburban News Roundup

E-mail Newsletter

Your link to the biggest stories in the suburbs delivered Thursday mornings.

Enter your e-mail address above and click "Sign Up Now!" to begin receiving your e-mail newsletter
Get the Newsletter!

Login or Register to manage all your newsletter preferences.




Latest Photo Galleries